Weekly POMA

POMA, a fun new acronym I learned from fellow SLPs, means “Pulled Out of My A$$”. A great term for those days when we have no other choice but create a last minute lesson plan and it seems to work miraculously. The kids love it, I love it, and inevitably I will forget it. So I thought I’d start documenting them for me and you!

This week’s POMA was a quick one. Last 15 minutes of Friday, articulation kid coming through the door (5 min late), and I couldn’t stand the idea of playing more Hi Ho Cherry-o.  I grabbed the pack of /s/ cards and told my student that if she could get through the entire stack of cards before the bell rang, I would give her three extra dice rolls on my game-board incentive (for a trip to the prize box).  BOOM. Done. I got so many more productions than I would have if I had played a game in the regular allotted time for her speech session and she had a great time.

Not a particularly brilliant idea, but it’s quick, easy, and great for squeezing in productions with almost no materials whatsoever.

1 thought on “Weekly POMA

Leave a comment